John Morgan – The Not So Comfortable Life Of Celibacy

john handrailDSC_0241_1781-web2

I write a lot on my blog about the Bible and what it says about the gift of celibacy and living a life with no sex. But I still see a lot of misinformation about this lifestyle. So this is to clear things up a bit. First, Paul’s definition of “gift,” as he used in 1 Corinthians 7 does not mean that this life is one of euphoric bliss. It’s a life of mistaken identity and one loaded with more responsibility than being a husband. Think about it this way. The Bible uses the word “know” as a synonym for sex, like in Genesis when Adam knew Eve, and it’s used much the same way today. A man is known today for what he knows and who he knows, not who he is. Nobody has ever “known” me. Married couples who have been together for any length of time will tell you that there are some difficult challenges to overcome. The same thing is true with celibate life. I have periods of loneliness. There are times when I feel misunderstood. There are times when I feel unloved, unneeded, unworthy, and totally incapable. I usually don’t have it together. I’m unorganized. My house looks like a disaster zone. I do try to be ready to go anywhere on a moment’s notice with my shoes at the door. I take more risks than most people. I don’t like mirrors, because I mostly don’t care how I look. I don’t watch TV. I’m not a football fan. I don’t hunt or fish. I know a lot of people, but few people I would call close friends. In the last few years, I’ve been more careful in selecting friends I think I can help. All single girls are my girlfriends. That may sound great. But it can get complicated. “Can we get together and talk sometimes? Now, don’t get the wrong impression because I’m just a monk looking for a social life.” How would that go over for you? Basically it’s just me and my pets. I love photography and go on nature hikes every chance I get. I have never owned a portable device. I don’t do texting. I would much rather talk face to face. Which is why most of my close friends are senior citizens. Young people today can’t seem to talk. I know what pain is. I’ve been close to death three times and I’m grateful to be alive. I’ve been disabled for about 12 years. My income is below poverty level. That’s doesn’t worry me. I worry about young people and their disregard of sexual ethics, persecution of Christians, the downhill spiral of our country, people wrongly imprisoned, abuse of the elderly, children without parents, child abuse, young ladies who can’t see their beauty, and a host of other things. I mentor students in high school, and am a father figure to some. My extended family is big. My choice of celibacy will end my Morgan line, which can be traced back to Glamorganshire, Wales. My maternal grandfather had 18 brothers and sisters. I have one sister. She had twins. All of that will come to a halt when I die. I will have no heirs. I’m still thinking about my options in that regard. Of course, I’ll have spiritual children and am looking forward to the time when I won’t have to think about marital status. I drive a car that has almost 250,000 miles, have not bought new clothes since 1984, still have my record player from the 1970s, and live in a house that’s over 100 years old. How’s that for comfort?

Leave a Reply

